I love Fall, and there are few things I like better about the season than sitting on a porch peeling apples to put away for the winter. I like apples in their natural form but once they are cinnamoned, sugared, and baked to toothsome perfection, I find them particularly magical. I remember the smell of Mom’s Apple Betty bubbling in the oven on a chilly evening. When I was younger, I only cared about the crisp; the apples were an afterthought. Well, I like to think I’ve grown and matured since then.

Apple Betty
6 cups chopped apples (unless the peels are very tough, I like to leave them)
1 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup butter, chilled
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp cinnamon
dash of salt

Preheat oven to 375*. Put apples in buttered 8×8 in baking dish (sometimes I use individual ramekins). In a separate bowl, mix dry ingredients. Cut in butter until you have pea-sized pieces. Dump mixture on top of fruit evenly. Bake 45 minutes. This is great with blueberries and other fruit as well. Juicier fruit might need a touch of flour tossed with it. Serve warm, and, if you like, with a scoop of Vanilla Ice Cream.

