My tab this morning was $25.20, just under the SNAP budget for five days of food.

I’m always up for a challenge, especially when it involves food, so when the Arkansas Foodbank Network challenged supporters to eat on a budget of $4.09 per day, the allowance for one person on SNAP benefits, I decided to get on board. Since purchases made on SNAP are not taxed, I’m not including tax. I also have a garden, home-canned foods, and a farm share. I will note when I use items from these resources and estimate a reasonable cost. I will also attempt to stick to my usual diet goals of adequate protein, limited simple carbohydrates, and few processed foods. I do my grocery shopping on Monday mornings, so that’s where we will start.

Are you interested in joining the challenge? Is this close to your usual grocery budget or would it represent a huge change? Is it easier to do this challenge as an individual or a family? I’d love to hear about your experience. Tell me about it in the comments or leave a link to your blog!

