Anyone else remember that Sarah Mclachlan song Ice Cream?

Your love is better than ice cream,
better than anything else that I’ve tried.

Well, I’m pretty sure she never had ice cream like this.

During a mild case of cooking confusion, I couldn’t remember if my ice cream maker had a two quart capacity or yielded two quarts after churning. Ice cream grows as air is whipped into it, and, if you overfill the bowl, it will overflow. To be on the safe side, I doubled a recipe with a one quart yield and filled the bowl three-fourths full. This left me with just shy of a half quart of Vanilla Bean Ice Cream batter left. (Yes, I know, you math people out there are shaking your heads.) Well, my momma’s daughter wasn’t raised to throw out a half a quart of custard, so, once my bowl had time to refreeze and I had time to clean up after guests, it was time to get churning again.

It’s a rarity during July for me not to have a stash of blueberries in the fridge. I poured a cup or so of fruit into a sauce pan, sprinkled in some vanilla sugar and started cooking it down. After about five minutes, most of the berries had popped, and I had what looked like a thin jam. I stirred in a glug of bourbon and let the mixture cool to lukewarm. Then I popped it in the fridge over night.

A chef friend of mine adds bourbon to his blueberry jam, and I admit to being a fan of this practice. It gives the blueberries a depth of flavor that is unexpected. Plus, I thought a touch of alcohol might keep the fruit from freezing too hard.

The next morning I churned the batter with the fruit and turned out some vibrantly purple ice cream. This one’s a keeper. Eat your heart out, Purple Cow!

 

Other ice cream posts you might enjoy:
Not Plain Vanilla
Coffee-Chocolate Ice Cream

