Ever eat something really healthy and then think, “Damn, I really want a soda and a burger”? Sigh. That’s life, sometimes, I suppose, if not a very good intro for this lovely meal I just cooked. Forgive me, I’m frustrated. I have blood work in less than a month and have been on a 5-pound-swing plateau for three months. I never want to see another fish oil capsule in my life.

It’s not all bad, however. My quest to add more whole grains to my diet led me to discover millet, and millet polenta rocks. Topped with sautéed spinach and mushrooms and garnished with fresh tomato, it rocks a bit harder. Plus, it reminds me of my Grandma’s mush, and I always miss my grandma a little more around Easter.

Millet Polenta
1 cup millet
3 cups water

Add millet to saucepan. Cover and toast over high heat, shaking pan occasionally, until aromatic. Add water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and let simmer for about 30 minutes or until water is absorbed and millet is tender. Pour into loaf pan and cover with waxed paper. Refrigerate for several hours or up to a few days. Slice loaf and fry in a lightly oiled iron skillet until golden, about 6 minutes on each side.

