When the weather starts to cool off, I find myself more willing to turn on the oven. That impulse coupled with apple season had me craving apple cake. While I am amazed at the towering, beautifully decorated cakes I see turned out by my favorite bakers, I also love a nice, homey cake that you don’t even have to turn out of the pan. This cake looks home-made, and that is a good thing. Leaving some bits of apple a bit chunky only adds to this cake’s appeal.

German Apple Cake
1 egg
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3 cups apples, cored and diced (I don’t remove peels, but you could)

Cream Cheese Frosting
3 oz cream cheese (I prefer the light version)
1 tbsp unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Toasted Pecans
1/4 cup crumbled pecans

The Cake:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour an 8×8 inch cake pan. Beat oil and egg with an electric mixer until well blended. Add sugar and vanilla and beat well.  In separate large bowl, sift together flour, salt, baking soda, and ground spices. Mix dry ingredients into wet ingredients slowly until combined into a very thick batter. Fold in apples with a plastic spatula. Spread batter evenly into the prepared pan. Bake for about 45 minutes. Let cool.

The Frosting:
Combine all ingredients and beat well until an even texture is achieved. Spread frosting over cooled cake.

The Pecans:
Heat a small, heavy iron skillet over medium high heat. Add pecans and toss or stir often. Once nuts become aromatic and start to take on color, remove from heat and allow to cool. Sprinkle over frosted cake.

