Every Wednesday during my  youth, except for those that fell during Lent, I could count on arriving home from CCD class to a serving of pudding Mom had made while I was at my lesson. CCD, for the uninitiated, is the religious teaching program of the Catholic Church. These classes are taught to school age children to learn the basic doctrines of their faith. As I used to tell my Protestant classmates, “Think of it as Sunday school for Catholics but on Wednesday night.”

Anyway, I liked pudding. I still like pudding. It’s simple, not too rich, and a good way for a non-milk drinker to use up milk. It’s also easy to make, even when you abandon the boxed mix. I mastered chocolate pudding from scratch last year but had a strike out or two when it came to caramel. When I saw this recipe, I knew it was time to give it another shot.

I followed a recipe, folks. I used measuring cups and multiple measuring spoons. That doesn’t happen to often. I’m glad I did. This stuff is yummy. Mine didn’t get as dark as the original. Perhaps I lacked bravery during the caramel-making stage, but I tend to take smoke as an indication of doneness. I didn’t mind the color, but I might see if I can get  actual flames going next time.*

*I’m not serious. Don’t try this and try to sue me. Trust me, it won’t be worth your time.

