I’ve been paying much more attention to balancing my diet lately and, no surprise here, have found that I tend to eat more carbohydrates and less protein than I should. I also eat more than I should, period. So, I’ve been wondering around the internet, seeking inspiration for some new-to-me meals. The first time I saw eggs poached in tomato sauce, it didn’t appeal to me. Then I began thinking how much I like tomato sauce on just about anything, usually pasta or pizza crust. The idea started to grow on me, and I thought I’d finally give it a try, especially since I had such great success with poached eggs in other recipes. The method needs some tweaking, but this is going to be a standby for me.

I rarely make the same tomato sauce twice, but here is what I did today. I only used about half of the sauce with my eggs.

Tomato Sauce
1 quart canned whole tomatoes
1 cup chopped fresh tomatoes (You could go with all fresh or all canned. I just had some fresh that needed to be used.)
1 Tbsp aged butter (Olive oil would be good too, but I love the Parmesan flavor of aged butter.)
1 Tbsp minced garlic
2 Tbsp minced onion
crushed red pepper, to taste
3 Tbsp basil, cut into chiffinode

Sautee garlic, onion, and pepper in butter. Add tomatoes and crush with wooden spoon. You want the sauce to retain some texture. Cook 15-30 mins, stirring in  the basil during the last 10 mins of cooking.

Eggs Poached in Tomato Sauce
2-3 cups tomato sauce
2 eggs (The quality of your eggs really matters with this dish, so if you don’t have chickens in your backyard, make friends with someone who does.)
1 Tbsp Parmesan
1 tsp basil, cut into chiffenode
Salt and pepper, to taste

Ladle sauce into oven-safe dish. Create two indentions for the eggs. Crack each egg into a small bowl and gently add to the sauce. Season to taste. Garnish with basil and Parmesan. Put under broiler on high for about 3 minutes. I served mine with whole-grain toast slathered with a bit of cream cheese.

My method was determined by not wanting to turn on the oven and wanting to use a specific casserole dish that I love. I’d like to try finishing these on the stove top or in the oven. I think that might give them a more attractive sunny-side up look. These were lovely and softly set, however.

