Why have I never made homemade peanut sauce before? It was so simple and good. It also calls for fish sauce, and I love fish sauce with a passion that belies my clearly Caucasian roots. As an additional bonus, my kitchen smells like coconut-and-peanut butter-dipped heaven. Yum! I added my sauce to a stir-fry of chicken, jalapenos, garlic, carrots, edamame, and noodles. The garlic, jalapeno, and carrot were straight from my garden. This sauce would make a great dip or dressing for any number of veggies, meats, noodles, or rice.

Peanut Sauce
3/4 cup coconut milk
6 tbsp peanut butter
2 tbsp fish sauce
2 tbsp lime juice
2 tbsp honey
ginger, optional (I had a “ginger spread” I received as a gift that was basically ginger and honey, so I added a tbsp or two)

Whisk *all ingredients together in microwave safe bowl. Microwave for 1 to 2 minutes to soften peanut butter. Whisk again. If you prefer a thicker sauce, cook for another few minutes.

*I like to use raw honey, so next time I make this, I will probably either cook it on low on the stove top or wait to add the honey until after nuking the sauce.

