It doesn’t get much better than this, folks. Five ingredients, one pot, and ten minutes is all you need for this beautiful and healthy dish. When you pare anything down this much, the raw materials have to be top-notch. For the first time in its history, the community supported agriculture program I belong to and volunteer for had fresh-cut, local asparagus. I adore asparagus. It is so pretty and easy to fix, and it’s one of those foods that I just know instinctively is good for me. It shines in simple preparations.

I’ve gotten spoiled by getting beautifully fresh eggs in my Basket a Month as well. If I can’t get good eggs, I’d rather go without. So by the time serious laying season kicks up in the Spring, I’m ready for eggs at every meal. I always love when a few blue or green shelled eggs make it into my dozen. Nothing like adding a little color to life.

Steamed Asparagus and Poached Eggs
6-8 stems fresh asparagus with tough ends snapped off
2 fresh eggs
Sea salt, black pepper, and lemon juice to taste

Place an inch or so of water and a steamer basket into a small sauce pan. Bring water to a simmer. Add asparagus and steam, covered, until crisp but tender, about 4 minutes for thin stems and up to 6 minutes for thick stems.  Remove steamer and strain asparagus. Add several more inches of water to the pot and bring to a gentle boil. (I’ll put on my tea kettle when I start the asparagus, so that I will have near boiling water ready to add.) Crack eggs, one at a time and gently and very close to water level, tip contents into boiling water. Cook uncovered for about 4 minutes. During cook time, plate asparagus and sprinkle with lemon juice, salt, and pepper. Remove eggs, in the same order you added them, with a slotted spoon. Plate eggs on top of asparagus and season to taste. Whites will be set but yolks will remain thickly liquid. I suggest a side of perfectly ripe strawberries.

