The best part of belonging to a CSA program is the sense of community. The food is a very, very close second. Julie, a fellow BAM volunteer, who I know only through her blog as she volunteers in a different city, posted a delectable looking quiche recipe on the day we got our baskets. Quiche can be a bit posh a pretentious for my taste. I’ve only made it once and that was with my cooking club. Julie added turnip greens to her quiche. Brilliant. That takes it from hoity-toity to Southern soul food.

I opted to leave out the bacon. Now I have nothing against bacon, but having just attending a fish fry for Dad’s birthday the night before, I thought I’d give the arteries a chance to recover. I also doubled the recipe, omitted the crust, put a touch less cheese, and used green onions instead of red. Oh, I added some red pepper flakes as well. I cooked it in two 8-inch square glass pans and increased the cooking time to about 45 minutes. If I were making it again I might lessen the milk a bit as well. I’d probably nix the nutmeg in favor of more red pepper. It just depends on what flavor you want. I love the combo of dairy and heat.

So, call it crustless quiche or call it an egg casserole. I call it good.

Crustless Quiche with Greens and Shiitakes (18 servings)

1 tsp oil or bacon grease
3 cups chopped turnip greens
1 cup shiitake mushrooms, sliced
1/4 cup green onion, chopped
red pepper flakes and/or nutmeg to taste
3 cups milk
3 cups cheddar cheese
12 eggs
1/4 cup flour
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Oil two 8×8 glass casseroles. Saute onion, mushroom, and pepper flakes in oil. Add greens and allow them to wilt slightly before stirring them in. Continue cooking 3-5 minutes. Allow to cool while combining remaining ingredients in separate bowl. Add cooled greens mixture and stir. Pour mixture into casseroles, being careful to distribute greens evenly. Bake for about 45 minutes until set and lightly browned.

