IMG_2303
You didn’t think I was going to leave you without a recipe for those lovely fries that accompanied my Apple Bacon Cheddar sandwich did you? Of course not.

Growing up, I ate sweet potatoes one way, covered with marshmallows. Don’t get me wrong, they were tasty. I still enjoy them that way at Thanksgiving, but that coating of sugar probably negates the tasty tuber’s status as a super food.

When I started getting a CSA basket, sweet potatoes were no longer limited to a time or two in the fall. They are a signature crop of Arkansas and appear in my Basket-A-Month at least ten months out of twelve. I’ll admit, more than once during the summer months, they’ve taken on a life of their own. Forgotten in the pantry, they get smushy and sprout. I’m doing better. If there is no place on the menu for them, they get cooked, mashed, and frozen for later use.

I’d been avoiding deep-fried fries for the same reason I’d be avoiding that marshmallow topping, but replacing a fear of sugar coma with a fear oil overdose. Roasting the taters takes much less oil than frying, and it’s just as yummy.

Roasted Sweet Potato Fries

1 sweet potato, cut into thin fries
oil
sea salt
fresh rosemary, minced
freshly ground black pepper

Heat oven to 425 degrees. Oil cookie sheet. Toss fries on cookie sheet until they are coated with oil, then arrange them into a single layer. Sprinkle salt, rosemary, and pepper over the fries. Roast about 15 minutes. Flip fries and roast another 10 minutes or so. Adjust seasoning if need. Serve right away.

Variations:
Use thyme instead of rosemary or use a combination of the two. You can also replace the pepper and rosemary with cumin and cayenne.

