IMG_1894

Synchronicity added a cookbook to my collection with a straightforward and simple recipe for pipérade within days after I found out there was such a dish. I have sauteed peppers and onions, often with Italian sausage, many times, so I had  actually made a version of the dish prior to having the recipe. It’s become one of my favorite pasta toppings.

This evening’s evaluation of my farmers market finds and my garden showed a mix of bell and salsa peppers that needed to be used up in short order. Adding onion, garlic, and  fresh herbs to the mix of peppers created a  spicy condiment ready to top a variety of entrees. Pasta alfredo? An omelette? Cheese grits? Oh the possibilities…

Pipérade
2 tsp oil
1 medium onion, sliced
4 medium bell peppers or equivalent amount mixed peppers, sliced
1 clove garlic, minced with a dash of sea salt
1 teaspoon mixed herbs (such as thyme, rosemary, and oregano), minced

Over medium high heat, saute onions until they soften but don’t brown. Add remaining ingredients and saute until peppers have softened.

