Okay, so growing up we called these “Rice Krispie Treats,” of course, but when I was skimming allrecipes.com, I found a recipe calling them “Marshmallow Treats.” That title suited the way I like them, nice and gooey, so I decided to go with the title but make up the proportions

“Old Favorites,” this week’s theme had me stumped, because I’ve tried to make most of my old favorites. Somehow, though, I’ve never made these gooey bits of heaven, one of the few non-chocolate sweets that I crave. Now I have!

Marshmallow Treats
1/4 cup unsalted butter
1 cup small marshmallows
1 cup puffed rice cereal

Melt butter in small sauce pan over low heat. Brush small(2-3 C capacity) casserole dish with some of the butter. Add marshmallows to sauce pan and stir occasionally until melted. Continue to cook for about 1 min.
Remove from heat and stir in cereal until well combined. Pour mixture into prepared casserole and smooth with spatula until even.

Eat right away by the spoonful or allow to cool and cut into bars. Makes 2-4 servings.

I wish this pic was better. Jennie gave me this sweet casserole dish for my birthday.

Edited to add:

Q&A:
Was the recipe easy to follow?
Yup, very easy
Did the dish taste good?
Yes, these might be too gooey for some, but I was digging them
Would you make it again?
Oh yes.

Not up to my usually craziness, hey? And where did the bubbling and whisking come in? Well, I guess I should have said, “First, make your marshmallows.”

See here for the basic recipe. These are ridiculously cool. If I were making them again just for these treats, I would just add the butter and cereal to the mixing bowl. The scraps, however, made the perfect mini-marshmallows for quick melting.

