This was a recipe I made for the first time for our Bunco group last week. I think it turned out well. Several people asked for the recipe, so here it is.

Cream Cheese Cake
1 yellow/white cake mix
1 stick butter
2 eggs
Combine and spread in 9 x 13 pan, greased and floured.

8 oz. cream cheese
2 eggs
1 pound powdered sugar
Combine and put on top of cake mix in 9 x 13 pan.

Bake at 350 until browned

My notes:
-I used Devil’s Food cake mix because I’m a chocolate fiend.
-No you don’t have to melt the butter in the first phase. If you don’t have a decent mixer, you might need to soften it to beat it in.
-I baked this in individual ramkins in a water bath. This way they stayed a bit gooey in the middle and didn’t burn on the sides. I also overfilled the ramkins, which I don’t recommend. Oops.
-I’d start checking on them after about 20 mins. in the oven
-I would have paid to have a picture of Lori M’s face when she tasted this. She just sat back in her chair and said, “Oh, man…” I felt like I should have offered her a cigarette.

Update:
Jennie asked about the water bath method, so here a little more info. I put 6 filled ramkins a piece into 2 9×13 pans. Once I got them into the oven I poured water into the 9×13’s until they were about half full. This keeps the cake’s sides from burning before the middle is done. Be careful when taking this out of the oven because it gets rather heavy.
I made these in a 9×13 last night with the yellow cake mix and it took about 45 mins to get done. Oh, after you put in the first layer, you may need to spread press it with damp hands to get it spread evenly.
Someone pointed out to me that this would make good lemon bars. I’d like to try it with a pineapple mix and pineapple chunks.

